The Office: Beauty in the Mundane

Hiya everyone! I am back from my parents’ house and I have been having a couple of good days despite how lousy the week has been. Then again, I guess this is just how it is when you’re a Clipper fan and a twentyish year old trying to figure out what the heck is wrong with her and her life. Oh, and I have been sick for a couple of days as well. But enough about me! Thanks to my long, unlucky week, I took some time off to myself and finish off The Office, a show that I have been enamored with for a really long time a few years back. Honestly, I absolutely loved the second, third, fourth, and fifth season of the Office. Those were some of the best television for me. But then it started going downhill a bit, especially with Michael Scott gone for the last two seasons so… I just never finished this show until a few days ago. Here I am with a quick review!

First of all, as many of you guys know, I am really into slice of life shows, including some of my favorite anime. The Office is the definition of a comedy show about the mundane. I have a soft spot for stories about the mundane, probably because I love Ernest Hemingway and want to write similarly to him. Anyways, back to the Office, this is my type of genre and definitely my type of humor. I enjoy watching awkward people doing the everyday tasks in a funny way. Some of my favorite moments on television are from this show, especially the priceless rivalries and pranks. Plus, there are so many quirky characters to love in this show. ESPECIALLY THESE TWO THOUGH!!

PamandJim

Besides Ben and Leslie from Parks and Recs, Jim and Pam might be my next favorite couple in television in recent years. Jim and Pam is the couple you idealize but probably will never even have a chance to get while Ben and Leslie is the couple you want to achieve but probably will fall short from. In any case, a huge chunk of the Office is spent exploring their romance and it’s worth the payoff because their story is beautiful and add to the silliness of the rest of the show. It is not too much of a stretch to say that they made the show along with the main character of Michael Scott. So yeah, a show with a strong mix of comedy, drama, romance, and slice of life and you have a show that embodies how the mundane can still be extraordinary~

Rating Including First and Last Season: 8/10

Rating Not Including First and Last Season: 9/10

P.S. Sorry for the short review. Medicine is hitting me pretty hard.

Published by Anaitic

Hiya! This is Anaitic reporting! I am your typical SoCal Asian gal who loves cats and dogs, LA Clippers, healthy food, and sunshine! But most importantly and more relevant to all of you is my hidden but not so hidden pleasure of being an underground geek! Anime/Video games? Yes! K-Drama/Kpop? Yeah duh! MBTI? Yup yup. Thus, this English major wants to learn more as well as share my limited knowledge of my nutty guilts! So let us do this together, both experienced fans and newcomers, and have lots of fun!

Leave a comment